UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
UM Today Network
Manitoba Legislature

UM alumni among 2024 Order of Manitoba recipients

May 14, 2024 — 

On Manitoba Day, May 12, the Province of Manitoba announced that 12 Manitobans, whose contributions encompass a broad range of endeavours and accomplishments, will soon receive the Order of Manitoba, the province’s highest honour. 

Ten of the 12 announced have UM connections, including six UM alumni, The Honourable Murray Sinclair (Mizana Gheezik), CC, MSC [LLB/79, LLD/02], Dr. Brent Roussin [BSc/96, MD/00, JD/09, MPH/11], Dr. Marcia Anderson [MD/02], Ronald (Ron) Paley [BMus/71], Michel D. Lagacé [BA/64, MA/68], and Dr. Connie Walker [BN/85, MBA/94] and four individuals who are friends of the University of Manitoba, David Johnston, CM, Robert (Bob) Williams, James Cohen, and Myrna Driedger. 

Many of these names will be familiar to the UM community, perhaps especially The Honourable Mr. Sinclair who served as an Elder-in-Residence in UM’s Faculty of Law and Dr. Marcia Anderson who is currently serving as vice-dean Indigenous health, social justice and anti-racism in the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences. 

“The accomplishments of the women and men who will receive the 2024 Order of Manitoba exemplifies their commitment to the community at the local, national and international levels,” said Lt.-Gov. Anita R. Neville, chancellor of the order, who will preside over the ceremony. “The impact of their leadership has made a unique mark on this province and its people with achievements that both impress and inspire.” 

The Order of Manitoba was established in 1999 to honour Manitobans who have demonstrated excellence and achievement, thereby enriching the social, cultural or economic well-being of the province and its residents. 

The formal investiture ceremony is scheduled to be held on Thursday, July 11, 2024, at the Manitoba Legislative Building. 

The full list of recipients and their citations can be viewed here. 

, , , , , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341