UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
UM Today
UM Today

Rhodes Scholars

The University of Manitoba has produced 99 Rhodes Scholars, more than any other university in Western Canada. They include former mayor of Winnipeg William Norrie, Red River College president Paul Vogt, international trade expert Wilson Parasiuk, leading tax lawyer Jillian Welch, and health sciences researcher and professor Sara Kreindler, who has also distinguished herself as a songwriter and performer.

In alphabetical order
* = deceased

Mr. Simon Abrahamson* [BA/1912, LLB/1914]
Mr. Robert J. Adams [BA(Hons)/1970]
Mr. C. A. Adamson*
Dr. Hector J. M. Allard* [BA/1924, MA/1926, LLD/1971]
Prof. D. Trevor Anderson [BA/1959]
Mr. F. Hedley Auld [BSc(ME)/1976]
Miss Melissa A. G. Bailey [BSc(Hons)/2011]
Mr. J R. Beattie* [BA/1930]
Dr. Stuart E. Beech* [BA/1904, MD/1911]
Mr. Brian T. Bohunicky [BA(Hons)/1988]
Mr. Lawrence C. Bonnycastle* [BA/1929]
Mr. Scott D. Boyd [BSc(Hons)/1992]
Dr. N F. Cantor* [BA(Hons)/1951]
Dr. William T. Cave* [BSc(Hons)/1939]
Mr. Hart D. Clark* [BA(Hons)/1935]
Mr. Robert A. Coke* [BA/1970, MA/1973]
Dr. James E. Coyne*, OM [BA(Hons)/1931, LLD/1961]
Mr. John M. Coyne* [BA(Hons)/1940]
Mr. Neill E. Currie* [BSc/1942]
Dr. Adriaan De Hoog [BSc/1967]
Prof. Alfred Ewart* [BA/1912]
Mr. Avrum Fenson [BA(Hons)/1968]
Mr. J. Ross Francis [BA(Hons)/1952]
Mr. Gilbert A. Friesen* [BA(Hons)/1960]
Dr. David A. Golden*, OC [LLB/1941, LLD/1986]
Dr. John K. Gordon*, CM [BA/1920, LLD/1981]
Mr. Tyler M. Grant [BSc(BioE)/2010]
Mr. Mark A. Hearson [BSc(CE)/2012]
Dr. Arnold D. P. Heeney*, CC [BA/1921, MA/1923, LLD/1950]
Mr. Howard R. L. Henry* [BA/1908]
Dr. Morley D. Hollenberg [BSc(Hons)/1963, MSC/1964]
Mr. Frank G. Hooton [BA/1942]
Dr. Claudia D. Hudspeth [MD/1999]
Mr. William B. Hurd* [BA/1913]
Mr. John E. Hutchings* [BA(Hons)/1973, CA/1981]
Mr. Erskine W. Ireland* [BA/1915, LLB/1923]
Dr. Prabhat K. S. Jha, OC [MD/1988]
Mr. Arthur W. Johnson* [BA/1922]
Mr. Skuli Johnson* [BA/1913, MA/1917]
Mr. Frank W. O. Jones* [BA(Hons)/1934]
Mr. Raed A. Joundi [BSc/2007]
Mr. Baruch Knei-Paz [BA/1960, MA/1961]
Mr. Henry Koschitzky [BScEP/1958]
Dr. Sara A. Kreindler [BA(Hons)/1999]
Mr. Francis B. Lamont* [BA/1953, LLB/1960]
Mr. R. W. Lawson*, OC [BA/1938]
Miss Aleksandra M. Leligdowicz [BSc/2002]
Dr. Morley S. Lougheed* [BA/1912, MD/1917, CM/1917]
Dr. Daniel T. Lussier [BSc(ME)/2005]
Dr. Peyton V. Lyon* [BA/1949]
Mr. Donald MacGregor*
Mr. John MacLean KC* [BA/1904]
Mr. Warren E. Magnusson [BA(Hons)/1967]
Ms. Akosua M. Matthews [BA(Hons)/2006]
Mr. James C. Matthews
Dr. Frederick J. McLean* [MD/1941]
Mr. John R. McLean [BA/1926, MA/1927]
Mr. Andrew H. Miller* [BA/1906]
Mr. Daniel A. B. Molgat [BComm/1955]
Dr. F. W. Orde Morton [BA/1961, BA(Hons)/1963]
Dr. William L. Morton*, OC [BA/1932, DLITT/1967]
Mr. Robert J. Moyse* [BA/1945]
Mr. William Nason* [BA/1912, LLB/1920]
Prof. William F. W. Neville [BA(Hons)/1963]
Dr. William Norrie*, CM, OM, QC, LLD [BA/1950, LLB/1955, LLD/1993]
Dr. Davide Panagia [BA(Hons)/1993]
Mr. Marcello Panagia [BSc(Maj)/1998]
Mr. Wilson D. Parasiuk [BA(Hons)/1965, MA/1966]
Mr. Thomas E. Patterson [BA(Hons)/1982]
Mr. Edward B. Pitblado* [BA/1920, LLB/1926]
Mr. Joseph B. Reid* [BSc(Hons)/1935]
Miss Jody R. Reimer [BA(Adv)/2011]
Mr. Graham J. Reynolds [BA/2002]
Ms. Annette Riziki [BA(Hons)/2018]
Dr. Wm J. Rose* [BA/1905]
Mr. John P. Schioler [BA(Hons)/1956]
Dr. Daniel H. Selchen [BA(Hons)/1971, MD/1980]
Mr. Eldon R. Siddall* [BA/1911]
Dr. Samir Sinha [BSc(Med)/2002]
Ms. Debra K. A. Slade [BA/1978, MA/1981]
Mr. Philip W. Slayton [BA(Hons)/1965]
Ms. Lisa M. Smirl* [BA(Hons)/1997]
The Honourable C R. Smith* [BA/1916, LLB/1923, LLD/1968]
Mr. Murray R. Smith*, OM [BA/1950, BEd/1956, MEd/1979]
Dr. Graham Spry*, CC [BA/1922]
Mr. Graham J. Steele [BA/1984]
Mr. Kerry J. Stirton [BA(Hons)/1985]
Mr. George P. Tallin*, QC [BA/1916, LLB/1923, LLD/1969]
Mr. John M. Teakles* [BA/1936]
The Honourable Joseph T. Thorson* [BA/1910, LLB/1920, LLD/1958]
Mr. Thomas Z. S. Toles [BA(Hons)/2013]
Mr. David M. Turnbull* [BA/1928]
Mr. Boris W. Tyzuk [LLB/1979]
Mr. Paul E. Vogt [BA(Hons)/1983]
Ms. Jillian M. Welch [BSc/1979]
Mr. R I. W. Westgate* [BA/1924]
Dr. Gregory J. Wilson [BSc(EE)/1969]
Dr. Carl A. Winkler* [BSc(Hons)/1930, MSC/1931, DSC/1965]
Ms. Alexa R. Yakubovich [BA(Hons)/2013]

Recent Alumni Stories

With Extended Education, study online, remotely from the comfort and safety of your own home.
Future-proof yourself with lifelong learning

"At this time when there is so much uncertainty and the ground beneath us is shifting daily, some people may find themselves out of work or decide that this is time for them to up-skill, re-skill or even change career direction. Whatever your situation is, Extended Education is here for you and can help you chart a whole new career path or give you the knowledge and skills you will need to adapt.” - David Mandzuk, Acting Dean, Extended Education

Follow Us
Twitter: umanalumni

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341