UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
Banner Image

Past Recipients

In 2014, the former Distinguished Alumni Award expanded to a total of five award categories.

In 2020, for the first time in DAA history, we celebrated multiple recipients in the professional achievement, community service and outstanding young alumni categories.

2020 recipients:

Dr. Judith Bartlett, C.M. – Lifetime Achievement
Chris Couture – Professional Achievement
Dr. Gigi Osler – Professional Achievement
Kimberly Prost – Professional Achievement
Taylor Morriseau – Outstanding Young Alumni
Josh Morry – Outstanding Young Alumni
Doneta Brotchie, C.M. – Community Service
Barb Gamey – Community Service
Kimberley Levasseur Puhach – Community Service
Read their bios here

2019 recipients:

Dr. Hersh Shefrin – Lifetime Achievement
Marcia Nozick – Professional Achievement
Romel Dhalla – Service to the University of Manitoba
Gemma Dalayoan – Community Service
Lindy Norris – Outstanding Young Alumni
Read their bios here.

2018 recipients:

Paul Soubry – Lifetime Achievement
Lorrie Kirshenbaum – Professional Achievement
Tina Jones – Community Service
Jan Lederman – Service to the University of Manitoba
Shayne Reitmeier – Outstanding Young Alumni
Read their bios here.

2017 recipients:

John & Patricia Patkau – Lifetime Achievement
Reva Stone – Professional Achievement
Sr. Lesley Sacouman – Community Service
Isabella Wiebe – Service to the University of Manitoba
Desiree Scott – Outstanding Young Alumni
Read their bios here.

2016 recipients:

Edward Lyons – Lifetime Achievement
Emmie Leung – Professional Achievement
Karen Beaudin – Community Service
Hong Kong Alumni Association – Service to the University of Manitoba
Diana Nicholson and Gary Wong – Outstanding Young Alumni
Read their bios here.

2015 recipients:

Marion Meadmore – Lifetime Achievement
Nick Logan – Professional Achievement
Wayne Davies – Community Service
Juliette (Archie) Cooper – Service to the University of Manitoba
Tito Daodu – Outstanding Young Alumni
Read their bios here.

2014 recipients:

David Matas – Lifetime Achievement
Scott Cairns – Professional Achievement
Bruce Miller – Community Leadership
John Bockstael – Service to the University of Manitoba
Chau Pham – Young Alumni

Past recipients (1959-2013)

2013 Ovide Mercredi
2012 Dr. Gerry Price
2011 Howard Pawley
2010 Lila Goodspeed
2009 Nestor Burtnyk
2008 Gregg Hanson
2007 Ian C.P. Smith
2006 John Foerster
2005 Janice and Gary Filmon
2004 David G. Friesen
2003 Albert Friesen
2002 Harold Buchwald
2001 Jaroslaw Barwinsky
2000 Robert Silver
1999 Marion Vaisey-Genser/ R.W. (Bill) Pollock
1998 Peter Kondra
1997 Dr. John M. Bowman
1996 Chief Justice Richard Scott
1995 Dr. Henry Friesen
1994 Susan Lewis
1993 Barry Broadfoot
1992 Jean Carson
1991 Lesley Hughes
1990 Dr. Allan Ronald
1989 Betty Jane Wylie
1988 Gail Watson
1987 Monty Hall
1986 Dr. Percy Barsky
1985 Margaret Storey
1984 Dr. Cameron Jay
1983 Beverly Bajus
1982 Ivan Eyre
1981 Esmond Jarvis
1980 Prof. Grant Marshall
1979 Israel Asper
1978 Dr. Walter Bushuk
1977 Dr. James Burns
1976 Dr. R. Glenn Anderson
1975 William Kurelek
1975 Kathleen M. Richardson
1974 Dr. Morley Cohen
1973 Hon.William John McKeag
1972 Mary Elizabeth Bayer
1971 Dr. John Page
1970 Dr. Wallace Grant
1969 Simma Holt
1968 Dr. John Parkin
1967 Prof. Gordon Donaldson
1966 Dr. Leonard Shebeski
1965 Dr. David Golden
1964 Hon. Alfred Monnin
1963 G. Richard Hunter
1962 Dr. William Allen
1961 Dr. Henry Duckworth
1960 Dr. Joseph Doupe
1959 Hon. Mitchell Sharp

Follow Us

[instagram-feed showfollow=false showheader=false showbutton=false showbio=false cols=1 num=1]


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341