UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
UM Today
UM Today
Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, invests 10 Officers (O.C.) and 13 Members (C.M.). into the Order of Canada during a ceremony at Rideau Hall on 6 May 2022. The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest honours. Appointments are made for sustained achievement at three levels: Companion, Officer and Member. Officers and Members may be elevated within the Order in recognition of further achievements, based on continued exceptional or extraordinary service to Canada. Credit/Mention de source: Sgt Mathieu St-Amour, Rideau Hall, OSGG-BSGG Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Members of UM community appointed to Order of Canada

July 4, 2024 — 

On June 27, 2024, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 83 new appointments to the Order of Canada, including one Companion, 16 Officers, two Honorary Officers and 64 Members. Two appointments are promotions within the Order. Among those announced were three members of the University of Manitoba community. 

“The Order of Canada recognizes individuals who have made positive and lasting impacts on communities here in Canada or who have brought honour to our country abroad,” says Simon. “As we progress towards an Order that is reflective of Canada’s full diversity, I encourage all Canadians to nominate individuals who inspire them, from all walks of life and backgrounds. Congratulations to the new appointees and thank you to the nominators who cast a spotlight on their achievement, purpose and exceptional talent.” 

Here are the members of the UM community who were announced: 


Frances Estelle Reed Simons, O.C. [BSc/65, MD/69] for her profound global impact on mitigating the effects of allergic reactions and diseases, notably among children. This world-renowned University of Manitoba professor emerita advanced the field of anaphylaxis diagnosis and management. She has been a leading presence in clinical immunology and allergy, as an educator and mentor, and through her leadership of national and international professional organizations and initiatives in the field. 


Tina Jones, C.M., O.M. [BEd/89], UM Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, for her passion as a community builder. As chair of the Health Sciences Centre Foundation, she has championed philanthropy as a means of advancing innovation in health care. A trailblazer in business, she has drawn a new landscape in the hospitality industry as the founder of Jones & Company Wine Merchants. She has also helped to reimagine sports leadership and athlete support as a partner of The Rink. 

Budhendranauth Doobay, C.M., O.Ont., friend of UM, retired surgeon, religious leader and mentor, is a pillar of the Indo-Canadian community. Founder of the Vishnu Mandir temple and the Gandhi Memorial Peace Garden, he shares the tenets of Hinduism with different communities in Canada by advocating unity in diversity. He is also a philanthropist, humanitarian and the founder of Guyana’s Doobay Medical Centre, which provides free dialysis to patients in need and promotes preventative care. 


Established in 1967 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Since its creation, the Order of Canada has honoured more than 7,600 people whose service has shaped our society, whose innovations have ignited our imaginations and whose compassion has united our communities. 

, , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341