UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
UM Today
UM Today
Manitoba Legislature

Inspiring individuals from UM named to Order of Manitoba

May 12, 2021 — 

The Province of Manitoba announced on May 12 that twelve Manitobans whose contributions encompass a broad range of endeavours and accomplishments will soon receive the Order of Manitoba, the province’s highest honour.

Seven of the twelve announced today have UM connections, including six UM alumni and individuals who have given generously to UM: Franklin (Lynn) Bishop [BA/70]; Gordon Goldsborough [BSc(Hons)/81, PhD/86]; Gregg Hanson, C.M. [BComm(Hons)/76, CA/79, LLD/18]; Ava Kobrinsky [BA/68]; former Manitoba Premier Greg Selinger, [BSW/73]; and Arni Thorsteinson BComm(Hons)/71, LLD/09]. UM professor Michael Eskin, C.M., will also receive the Order of Manitoba.

‚ÄúThe exceptional women and men to be invested into the Order of Manitoba serve to inspire us all and reinforce that each of us has the power to make a difference,‚ÄĚ said Lt.-Gov. Janice C. Filmon, chancellor of the order, who will preside over ceremony. ‚ÄúThese individuals truly exemplify resiliency, adaptability and leadership, and they are all most worthy of acknowledgement and acclaim. We are proud to celebrate the passion and leadership of these great Manitobans.‚ÄĚ

Appointments to the order are made by the chancellor, based on the recommendations of an advisory council. Order members are entitled to use the initials O.M. after their names for life. The list of all members of the Order of Manitoba is on permanent display in the Legislative Building.

The Order of Manitoba was established in 1999 to honour Manitobans who have demonstrated excellence and achievement, thereby enriching the social, cultural or economic well-being of the province and its residents.

The formal investiture ceremony is tentatively scheduled to be held on July 15, 2021, at the Manitoba Legislative Building, subject to the COVID-19 Pandemic Response System.

The full list of recipients and their citations can be viewed here.

, , , , ,

© University of Manitoba ‚ÄĘ Winnipeg, Manitoba ‚ÄĘ Canada ‚ÄĘ R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341