UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
UM Today Network

New scholarship awarded to 18 students

April 24, 2018 — 

Eighteen U of M students are recipients of the inaugural UMSU Award for Indigenous Community Leaders.

“These students exemplify outstanding leadership in their communities, and on our campuses,” says Tanjit Nagra, President of the University of Manitoba Student’s Union. “They are actively enhancing the student experience for their peers.”

Highlighting the University of Manitoba’s commitment to Indigenous achievement, these awards recognize Canadian Indigenous students who are leaders in their communities and participate in community service activities and leadership initiatives. The awards are funded thanks to UMSU’s $16.2 million commitment to support student success at the U of M through the Front and Centre campaign.

“Receiving the UMSU Award for Indigenous Community Leaders is a huge honour and will help me in further developing as an Indigenous leader on campus,” says Gillian McIvor, Faculty of Science. “This award allows me to focus on my studies, and to continue being involved with my Metis culture.”

Each of this year’s recipients will receive a financial award in the amount of $1375.

The 2018 recipients of the UMSU Award for Indigenous Community Leaders are:

  • Lakeisha Barkman, Faculty of Engineering
  • Lindsay Bristow, Faculty of Science
  • Maegan Courchene, Faculty of Arts
  • Ashley Daniels, Faculty of Science
  • Bradley Feltham, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
  • Kristin Flattery, Faculty of Education
  • Ava Glesby, Faculty of Kinesiology & Recreation Management
  • River Guillas, College of Nursing
  • Tyler Koswin, Faculty of Science
  • Gillian McIvor, Faculty of Science
  • Joseph McKellep, Faculty of Arts
  • Carly McLellan, Max Rady College of Medicine
  • Bobby McNair, Faculty of Science
  • Jordan Mitchell, Faculty of Engineering
  • Brianna Moyer, Asper School of Business
  • Riley Proulx, Asper School of Business
  • Mary Swiftwolfe, Faculty of Arts
  • Taylen Van Den Driessche, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences

Creating Pathways to Indigenous Achievement is an institutional priority for the University of Manitoba, with a goal to celebrate achievements by Indigenous faculty, staff, students, alumni and community partners.

Indigenous Achievement is a pillar of Front and Centre — the campaign for the University of Manitoba. By collaborating with Indigenous communities and stakeholders, the University of Manitoba is striving to be a welcoming place that translates into success for Indigenous students and their families.

, , , , , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341