UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Science
UM Today Network

Meet our 2021 Honoured Science Alumni

February 3, 2021 — 

On February 4, 2021, the Faculty of Science celebrated the 2021 Honoured Alumni Award recipients and their incredible accomplishments at the Pathways to Exceptional Achievement event. The majority of the event focused on giving students a chance to learn from the experiences of successful graduates of the Faculty by asking the alumni to share their wisdom with the audience. As these alumni prove a degree in science opens many doors.

Watch our 2021 Memorial Award Video

Our 2021 Honoured Science Alumni:


Emily Choy [Ph.D./17] – Biological Sciences – Postdoctoral Fellow at McGill University and Environment and Climate Change Canada

Read more



Dr. Kyle Elliott [MSc./08, Ph.D./14] – Biological Sciences Assistant Professor; Canada Research Chair (Tier II) Chair in Arctic Ecology, McGill University


Read more


Dr. Sheryl Tittlemier [BSc. (Hons)/96] – Chemistry – Research Scientist/Program Manager/Head of Technologies Section at Canadian Grain Commission




Lorisa Dubuc [B.C.Sc. (Hons), Psychology Minor/02] – Computer Science – Executive Director (VP), Developer Experience User Research, Goldman Sachs, London.


Read more


Dr. Ann Gargett [BSc. (Hons)/66] Mathematics – Emerita Professor of Oceanography, Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, Old Dominion.


Read more


Dr. Ryan Mitchell [BSc. (Hons)/05, Ph.D./11] – Microbiology – Chief Analytics Officer & Co-founder at Intrinsic Analytics Inc.

Read more


Dr. Waylon Hunt [BSc., (Major)/04, Ph.D./12] – Microbiology – Chief Executive Officer & Co-founder at Intrinsic Analytics Inc.


Read more


Dr. Jon-Jon Santiago [BSc./02, BSc. (Hons)/04, M.Sc./07, Ph.D./14] – Biochemistry – Chief Scientific Officer & Co-founder at Intrinsic Analytics Inc.


Read more


Dr. Shawn Qu [M.Sc./90] – Physics & Astronomy – Chairman, President, & CEO of Canadian Solar


Read more


Dr. Robert Tate [M.Sc./75, Ph.D./00] – Statistics – Senior Scholar at the University of Manitoba, Director of the Manitoba Follow-up Study


Read more



Dr. Nirvani Umadat [BSc./07, BSc./11, D.M.D/11] – General Science – Dental surgeon, Founder of Aspire Dental Centre, Co-founder of Bdin, Citizen-Scientist Astronaut Candidate with Project PoSSUM


Read more



Our 2021 Memorial Awardees:

Fundamental Contributions to Discovery Science
Dr. Kenneth Standing BSc (Hons)/48, DSc/09

Applications that Changed the World 
Dr. Jennifer Shay MSc/59, PhD/66

Beyond Science 
Eira ‘Babs’ Friesen BSc/39

, , , , , , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341