UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
UM Today Network
Headdress from PowWow, Graduation 2013-74

President congratulates newly elected National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations

December 10, 2014 — 

The University of Manitoba congratulates Perry Bellegarde on being elected as the new National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) on December 10 at an election held in Winnipeg.

“Congratulations to Perry Bellegarde on his election to this important role of national leadership,” says Dr. David Barnard, President and Vice-Chancellor at the University of Manitoba. “The University of Manitoba looks forward to collaborating with Mr. Bellegarde and the AFN to advance Indigenous achievement, and to support Canada’s journey of reconciliation and healing in the aftermath of the Residential Schools System.”

“This is an exciting time at the university, as creating pathways to Indigenous achievement has been made a top priority,” says Deborah Young, Executive Lead of Indigenous Achievement at the U of M.  “Congratulations to Perry Bellegarde  on being elected National Chief. I look forward to working with him to ensure First Nations youth are supported in succeeding at university and beyond.”

Over 2,000 First Nations, Métis and Inuit students currently attend the University of Manitoba, one of the largest Indigenous student populations in the country. The U of M also supports more than 140 researchers studying Indigenous peoples and cultures, and the University developed its Pathways to Indigenous Achievement Plan to strategically expand on our successes. The University of Manitoba is also wholly committed and engaged in the process of reconciliation, working with the AFN and other Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities on this matter. The University of Manitoba is now the permanent host of a National Research Centre for Truth and Reconciliation, of which the AFN is a key partner. This Centre houses the statements, documents and other materials gathered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada during its five-year mandate.



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341