UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
UM Today Network

Faculty researchers recognized for achievements in 2023

December 1, 2023 — 

Members of our academic community were recognized nationally and internationally in 2023.

Rotimi Aluko

Rotimi AlukoRotimi Aluko, Food and Human Nutritional Sciences, was elected to the Royal Society of Canada, the country’s most esteemed association of scholars and scientists. Dr. Aluko is the Canada Research Chair in Bioactive Peptides and has gained international renown for breakthroughs in the value-added utilization of plant proteins. His current research program is focused on the development of natural food protein derivatives that can be used in the prevention and management of chronic human diseases.

Kim Ominski

Dr. Kim OminskiKim Ominski, Animal Science, was presented with the Canadian Beef Industry Award for Outstanding Research and Innovation for her extensive work looking at sustainable cattle production systems. Presented annually by the Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC) on behalf of Canada’s beef industry stakeholders, the award recognizes scientists and academics that are actively involved in strong research programs aligned with industry priorities, continually engage with industry stakeholders and demonstrate their passion and long-term commitment through leadership, teamwork and mentorship.

Dilantha Fernando

Dilantha Fernando, Plant Science, was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award for excellence in research towards sustainability of the environment and agriculture, conferred by the Society for Environmental Sustainability. He also delivered the keynote lecture at the annual conference of the society, held in Dubai, UAE, in November 2023.

Maneka Malalgoda

Maneka Malalgoda, Food and Human Nutritional Sciences, received the Food Innovation Award from CIFST (Canadian Institute of Food Science & Techonology). This award honours an individual or team for outstanding work in food innovation, and Maneka’s team was recognized for their work exploring food safety concerns in wheat, where acrylamide formation is being studied to identify cultivars low in their potential for the formation of this compound.

Digvir Jayas and Fuji Jian

Headshot of Fuji Jian.Digvir Jayas and Fuji Jian, Biosystems Engineering, were the recipients of the 2023 John Ogilvie Research Innovation Award presented by the Canadian Society for Bioengineering. They were recognized for their work on “Method to Rapidly Detect Insects in Granular Materials”.  Their research has investigated many techniques based on soft x-rays, thermal imaging, hyperspectral imaging, electronic nose, mechanical separation, and microwaves for rapid detection of insects in grain.

Michael Eskin

Michael EskinMichael Eskin, Distinguished Professor in Food and Human Nutritional Sciences, was widely celebrated in 2023:

  • He was inducted into the Manitoba Agricultural Hall of Fame in honour of his world-recognized expertise in canola oil research and his many contributions to Manitoba’s agri-food community.
  • He received the A.R. Baldwin Distinguished Service Award from AOCS (American Oil Chemists Society) for his many contributions over the years to the Society.
  • He was recognized by the Manitoba Canola Growers Association with the Canola Award of Excellence, given to to acknowledge the accomplishments of individuals and organizations who contribute to the sustained growth and prosperity of Manitoba’s canola industry.


, ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341