UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Law
UM Today Network
Law Courts building sign

Faculty of Law Alumni appointed King’s Counsel

January 24, 2023 — 

The Faculty of Law proudly congratulates 16 University of Manitoba alumni who were recently appointed as King’s counsel in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the practice of law.

In a January 1, 2023 announcement, Justice Minister Kelvin Goertzen said, “The appointees we honour today have been long-serving members of the legal profession who have demonstrated outstanding practice, contributed to excellence in their profession and shown integrity and leadership throughout their careers. Congratulations to all King’s counsel appointees for earning this honour.”

King’s counsel is an honorary title given to a lawyer by the lieutenant-governor in council, based on recommendations made by the minister following consultation with an advisory council. To be considered for the title, the lawyer must have demonstrated outstanding practice, operated with integrity and leadership, fostered excellence in the profession and been in practice for at least 10 years.

“This is a significant recognition of a legal career built with integrity, respect and excellence, all values held in highest esteem by your alma mater,” said Dr. Richard Jochelson, Dean of Law in a congratulatory statement to the new appointees. “Please know that through your actions, you serve as an inspiration to everyone here at Robson Hall.”

Historically, once a lawyer received the designation, they would “don the silks,” or trade in their traditional woolen or cotton robes for silk robes. A number of silk robes remain in archives at the Faculty of Law, that once belonged to distinguished Queen’s – or the previous King’s (George VI) counsel, indicating a long history of distinguished practitioners among UM Law alumni.

The full list of 2023 King’s counsel appointees is:

  • Thomas Gordon Frohlinger, KC;
  • Jeffrey Brian Hirsch, KC;
  • John David Stefaniuk, KC;
  • Stuart James Blake, KC;
  • Kevin Terrance Williams, KC;
  • Helga Dale Van Iderstine, KC;
  • Evan Jay Roitenberg, KC;
  • Lawrence Isaac Pinsky, KC;
  • Grant Andrew Stefanson, KC;
  • Christine Ria Van Cauwenberghe, KC;
  • Michael Arlyn Conner, KC;
  • David Earl Swayze, KC;
  • Sarah Ann Inness, KC;
  • Lisa Junio Stiver, KC;
  • Rekha Nadine Malaviya, KC;
  • Priscilla Sternat-McIvor, KC; and
  • Sofia Mirza, KC.

Background information about each appointee’s achievements is found on the Manitoba Government’s website.

, ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341