UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Law
UM Today Network
Honourary Doctors Jim and Sandra Piblado return to Robson Hall each year to present Dean's Honour students with Pitblado Scholarships.

Celebrating Student Achievement Awards Night

September 28, 2018 — 

Robson Hall’s annual “Celebrating Student Achievement Awards” night took place on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 and was attended by a full compliment of students who received awards this year, and their families.

Dr. David Barnard, President of the University of Manitoba and The Honourable Kelvin Goertzen, Minister of Education and Training and a Robson Hall graduate himself, brought greetings from the University and the provincial government respectively. Dr. Jonathan Black-Branch, Dean of Law, Dr. Donn Short, Associate Dean of Research & Grad Studies, Dr. Bruce Curran, Associate Dean (Academic), and very special visitors, Drs. Jim and Sandra Pitblado, presented the awards.

The Pitblados return to Robson Hall annually to mingle with students and present the “Pitblado Scholar” awards to them in person. These scholarships are awarded to students who finished their first and second years of law school on the Dean’s Honour List.

Other awards presented included Graduate Fellowships, Entrance Awards, and the Schwartz/Reisman Scholarship.

Dean Black-Branch concluded the celebration by congratulating the students on their achievements stating that, “their families and friends should be very proud of their significant achievement”, emphasizing the importance of “taking the time to celebrate the success of our students who have worked hard to achieve success in their studies. The fruits of their achievements will resonate well into the future as will the generosity of the benefactors who made these awards possible.”


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341