UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
2016 Alumni Association AGM

Alumni Association gathers to reflect on achievements

Annual General Meeting gives members a chance to discuss and celebrate milestones

June 15, 2016 — 

At the Annual General Meeting held on June 13, the University of Manitoba Alumni Association marked another successful year of helping to inspire a proud and lifelong relationship between alumni and the University.

U of M President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. David T. Barnard brought greetings on behalf of the University and highlighted many of the key accomplishments of the past year.

Of particular note was the launch of the $500 million Front and Centre campaign during Homecoming Week 2015. “It was one of the most exciting moments of my time as president,” reflected Barnard.

In 2015, the U of M also launched a reimagined UM Today The Magazine. The first edition arrived in alumni’s hands in Fall 2015 and the second issue hit mailboxes in Spring 2016. “We’ve had some really great feedback,” said Barnard. “It certainly seems to have connected with many alumni.”

Barnard noted the important relationship between alumni and the U of M. The achievements of the last year were made possible by the continued support of the alumni community.

“I hope that each of you feels the same sense of pride that I do,” said Barnard as he addressed the alumni in attendance. “You are an invaluable part of our university community and your success is our success.”

The 2016 U of M Alumni Association AGM

The 2016 U of M Alumni Association AGM

Jeff Lieberman, past president of the Alumni Association, delivered the annual report on behalf of Association president Kim Metcalfe. During the past year, the Association developed new initiatives and continued to support many of the existing programs to further three key priorities: student engagement, lifelong learning and alumni achievement.

The student engagement committee moved forward with the newly defined Alumni Association Scholarships for incoming and current students. These new awards will be finalized in the coming year. The board has partnered with student organizations to continue enhancing the connection between alumni and students.

The Seniors’ Alumni Learning for Life Program was launched this year, providing exclusive opportunities for alumni and friends to explore new ideas and to hear from professors, researchers and fellow alumni who are innovators in their respective fields. The pilot program launched during Homecoming Week 2015. After selling out quickly, another session was added in spring 2016. The program will continue in fall 2016.

“It has been a truly rewarding experience to be a part of all the activity constantly happening at the U of M,” remarked Lieberman.

Visionary Conversations was expanded to include both Visionary Conversations in the Community and Visionary Conversations on Campus. David Barnard hosted the events in the community, which took place at the Winnipeg Art Gallery. The on-campus events were hosted by faculty members who moderated the discussions, while expert panelists were invited to add their ideas and thoughts to the conversation.

The annual Distinguished Alumni Awards (DAA) is a key awards program that celebrates alumni achievement. This year’s Celebration of Excellence event highlighted the accomplishments of six outstanding recipients: Edward Lyons, Emmie Leung, Karen Beaudin, The Hong Kong Alumni Association, Diana Nicholson and Gary Wong.

“Our alumni make outstanding and significant contributions not only here at home, but in the global community as well, and this event truly showcased that fact,” said Lieberman. “I was amazed and humbled by the work of the alumni who were chosen as the DAA recipients this year.”

The meeting concluded with the confirmation of the slate of members and officers that will serve the Association for 2016-2017. Kim Metcalfe will continue in her position as president of the Alumni Association.

2016-17 Alumni Association Board of Directors


Kim Metcalfe, President
Jeff Lieberman, Past President
Ken Kustra, Treasurer & Vice-President* (Student Engagement)
Dawn Nedohin-Macek, Vice-President (Alumni Achievement)
Jerome Knysh, Vice-President (Lifelong Learning)
Nancy Militano, Member at Large
Director, Alumni Relations, Secretary, Ex-Officio

*When a board member holds two executive positions, an additional member at large will be added to the executive committee.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: (Includes Executive members)

Rene Chu, DMD/08
Jerome Knysh, BSc(IE)/84, ExtEd/87, MBA/90
Ken Kustra, BSc/99, BComm(Hons)/02, CA/05
Jeffrey Lieberman, BA /80, BComm(Hons)/83
Kim Metcalfe, BComm (Hons)/97, CA/00
Nancy Militano, BA/85, BRS/02
Kristjan Mann, BA/11, BA(Adv)/13
Dawn Nedohin-Macek, BSc (CompE)/02
Michael Puchniak, BA(Adv)/03, LLB/08
Michael Silicz, BA(Hons)/05, MA/07, LLB/09, MPAdm/13
Monika Wetzel, BHECOL/12, MSC/15
Blair Worb, BA/85, BSW/87


John Kearsey, Vice-President (External), Representing the University President
Gary Hepburn, Representing the Provost’s Council
Tanjit Nagra, President, University of Manitoba Students’ Union
Enoch A-iyeh, MSC/13 President, University of Manitoba Graduate Students’ Association


Shona Connelly, BA/81, MA/90
Jeffrey Lieberman, BA /80, BComm(Hons)/83
Rennie Zegalski, BComm (Hons)/95


Executive: Kim Metcalfe
Finance: Ken Kustra
Nominating: Jeff Lieberman



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341