UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Desautels Faculty of Music
UM Today Network
11 musicians standing on stage at the Zita Bernstein competition

Zita Bernstein Competition participants. From left to right: Lisa Rumpel, collaborative pianist; Christopher Dunn, baritone; Ian Olsen, tenor; Dariyan Dubik, baritone; Anica Warkentine, collaborative pianist; Hannah Orr, soprano; Jayden Fraser, baritone; Lukas Sawatsky, baritone; Claire Wright, soprano; Sloan Smith, soprano; Megan Dufrat, collaborative pianist.

Zita Bernstein Lieder competition winners announced

Congratulations to Dariyan Dubik, baritone, and Ian Olson, tenor.

On November 29th eight finalists competed in the 25th annual Zita Bernstein Competition in an evening of song and storytelling! First place was awarded to Dariyan Dubik, baritone, with Ian Olson, tenor, coming in second.  

A special thanks to our adjudicators Canadian soprano Martha Guth, Rob Herriot & vocal accompanist Graham Johnson, along with moderator, Laura Loewen, associate dean undergraduate, Desautels Faculty of Music.

Congratulations to all who participated!


Winners and adjudicators on stage after the Zita Bernstein Competition.

From left to right: Ian Olson, second place; Martha Guth, adjudicator; Rob Herriot, adjudicator; Graham Johnson, adjudicator; Dariyan Dubik, first place.

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341