UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today

Wpg Sun: U of M athletes nominated for awards

December 11, 2013 — 

Wpg Sun story on the annual awards handed out by the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association. The Bisons had finalists in all three awards categories: team and male and female athlete of the year.

U of M alumnus Jennifer Jones’s [BA/96, LLB/99] rink is a finalist for Manitoba team of the year, as is the Bisons football squad, which was nominated after a gutsy season that saw them make the Hardy Cup Canada West divisional final.

The female athlete of the year finalists include Bisons volleyball star Taylor Pischke. The male athlete of the year finalists include Bisons running back Anthony Coombs and Bison golfer Josh Wytinck.

Winners will be honoured at the 58th annual Athletes of the Year awards dinner on Jan. 26 at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel.


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341