UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
Witold Kinsner, Faculty of Engineering, was the recipient of the Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award.

President David Barnard with Witold Kinsner, Faculty of Engineering, the recipient of the Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award.

2013 Outreach Awards

Visionaries and trailblazers recognized for outreach activities

November 14, 2013 — 

Eleven faculty and staff of the University of Manitoba were recognized for their outstanding community involvement through Outreach Awards at a special reception on Wednesday, November 13.

Witold Kinsner, Faculty of Engineering, was the recipient of the Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award. He has been with the department of electrical and computer engineering since 1978, and has been involved in many outreach programs and student projects during this time. He has been a recipient of the University Outreach Award three times, in 1981, 1988 and 2009, testimony to the his innovation and teaching excellence. His many outreach activities include: T-Sat; Space Camp; the Verna Kirkness Program for Indigenous students; the IEEE Teachers-In­Service Program (TISP); the IEEE Xtreme Programming contest; a radio course on theory and operation; and the Peguis First Nation Science and Technology Symposium.


Recipients of the 2013 Outreach Awards.

Recipients of the 2013 Outreach Awards.

This year, recipients of Outreach Awards include ten individuals who: preserve the history of Winnipeg’s LGBTTQ community; help autistic students and parents of autistic children; provide alternative housing solutions to people living in impoverished areas; promote diversity, respect and pride among youth; and empower women to enter careers in the sciences and engineering.

Annemieke Farenhorst, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, for her tireless efforts in encouraging and empowering women to enter careers in the sciences and engineering. Farenhorst’s workshops and conferences to educate and build support networks have reached hundreds of participants. She has also partnered with other universities and the Assembly of First Nations in the NSERC CREATE H20 program where First Nations science and engineering students will be at the forefront of tackling water services gaps in their communities.

Magdalena Blackmore, Faculty of Arts, for her significant outreach activities within the Polish Canadian community. Blackmore increases access and visibility for the Polish program by attending numerous community and fundraising events. She organized the Central and East European Lecture Series, and has worked in partnership with the Polish Consulate, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and the Ogniwo Polish Museum Society to bring world-class speakers to the University of Manitoba.

David Churchill, Faculty of Arts, for being actively engaged in the LGBTTQ community and the Art community in Winnipeg for many years. Churchill co-led the LGBTTQ oral history initiative, a project that resulted in over 100 oral histories being stored in the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections. He is also the coordinator of the Little Queer School House, an initiative to share LGBTTQ histories outside of academic settings. In the Winnipeg Art community, Churchill is co-founder and co-curator of the “Hole in the Wall Gallery,” a public gallery which has garnered a great deal of support and press attention.

Esyllt Jones and Adele Perry, Faculty of Arts, for their significant outreach activities, especially through their published work “A People’s Citizenship Guide” and the public events and panel discussions held across the country to encourage Canadians to engage in critical conversations about Canada’s past and its relationship to public policy and debate.

Janine Montgomery, Faculty of Arts, for her significant contributions to the local community, particularly in the area of Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders. Montgomery regularly speaks to community agencies, non-profit groups, and schools in Manitoba to increase awareness of autism and communicate ways to improve outcomes for families and individuals. She has also created a number of programs and groups, helping autistic students and parents of autistic children understand and cope with the diagnosis.

Robert Schroth, Faculty of Dentistry, for his dedication to providing service for underserved populations who do not receive the oral health care that they need.  His commitment to the oral health of children, seniors, Indigenous persons, newly landed immigrants and the working poor is both commendable and admirable. Schroth also volunteers his time in many service and outreach-related capacities, through leveraging his knowledge and experience towards serving on committees and participating in service events.

Kristopher Dick, Faculty of Engineering, for his efforts in establishing “El Pueblo Creciente” which has a long-term goal to provide alternative housing solutions to people living in impoverished areas of Honduras. Dick has developed a service learning opportunity for our students who are interested in helping to build a home in rural Honduras. An inaugural trip in February, 2013 was a success, with the students designing and building a house, rainwater collection/filtration system, stove, sink and latrine.

Leisha Strachan, Faculty of Kinesiology and Recreation Management, for her contributions to community sport, specifically the sport of baton twirling, where she was a coach of Team Manitoba in 2013 when they competed in the Netherlands, winning the International Cup (Level B). Strachan is also the founder and director of ANANSI, School for the Performing Arts, a group which introduces youth to cultural activities that connect and celebrate Caribbean African culture. Further, Strachan is a member of Community Vibes, a non-profit organization working to promote diversity, respect and pride among youth and young professionals of various cultural backgrounds.

Kimberley Clare, Faculty of Social Work, for her commitment and dedication in her ongoing work with many North End organizations. Clare is the chair of the Makoonsag Intergenerational Child Care Centre, a steering committee member of Aboriginal Visioning for the North End, and the founder and board member of the Legal Help Centre. She works tirelessly with community partners of the Inner City Social Work Program.



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341