UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today

Search for Vice-President (Academic) and Provost

September 30, 2015 — 

The following is a message from Dr. David T. Barnard, President and Vice Chancellor of the University of Manitoba:

Dr. Joanne Keselman has served the University of Manitoba as Vice-President (Academic) and Provost since January 1, 2009 and in 2013, agreed to a two-year extension of her term as Vice-President (Academic) and Provost, to June 30, 2016. At that time, she signaled her intention to step down from this position at the end of her term extension.

The University has benefited greatly from her willingness to extend her term. Notably, during the last two years Dr. Keselman led the University’s strategic planning process, which generated a new five-year strategic plan that will guide the University through 2020, steered the former Faculties of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy and the Schools of Dental Hygiene and Medical Rehabilitation through the process of becoming an integrated Faculty of Health Sciences, and laid the groundwork for the University to usher in a new era of integrated planning.

This adds to her record of leadership over a wide range of initiatives of strategic importance to the University over the course of her productive and illustrious career. At the time of her term extension, I spoke of the important role she has played in leading the University through a period of significant change, responding to the changing needs of students and of the economy, pursuing the University’s strategic priorities, developing a strategic enrolment management framework, managing financial constraints, and modernizing unwieldy processes and structures. These are only the most recent within her stellar record of accomplishments in University administration, in both the Academic and Research portfolios.

With the end of Dr. Keselman’s term nearing, the process to search for a new Vice-President (Academic) and Provost has begun. I have formed a committee that I have asked to advise me on candidates for the position and more generally on its role. Joining me on the committee are:

From the Board of Governors:
Pat Bovey, Chair, Board of Governors

From the Colleges:
Christopher Adams, Rector, St. Paul’s College

From Senate:
Judy Anderson, Head and Professor, Department of Biological Science, Faculty of Science
Michael Campbell, Director and Professor, Natural Resources Institute, Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth and Resources
Brian Postl, Dean, College of Medicine and Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences & Vice-Provost (Health Sciences)
Karin Wittenberg, Dean Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences

From the University of ManitobaFaculty Association:
Mark Hudson, President, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts

From Administration:
Jeff Adams, Executive Director, Enrollment Services
John Kearsey, Vice-President (External)
Kathleen Sobie, Executive Director (Financial Planning)

From the University of Manitoba Students’ Union:
Jeremiah Kopp, President

From the Graduate Students’Association:
Kristjan Mann, President

Presidential Appointees:
Ovide Mercredi, Senior Advisor
Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, Professor, Pediatrics and Child Health/Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, College of Medicine


As part of its work, the Committee will be seeking the views of our community on the ideal profile and candidate for a Provost and Vice-President (Academic). This input will be solicited in the coming weeks and I look forward to hearing your views.


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341