UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Law
UM Today Network
Four mini moot competition winners standing together.

2022 Mini Moot winners and finalists (left to right): Jayden Wlasichuk, Genevieve Smith, Ashley Slagerman, Paige Gratton.

Law student-run Mini Moot mentors, encourages first-time competitors

April 1, 2022 — 

Coinciding with the regular moot competition season, the Manitoba Law Students Association Clinical Experience Committee once again hosted the annual Robson Hall Mini Moot on March 2 – 3, 2022, in-person at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Created in 2018 by the Committee with the intention of introducing all law students – including first-years – to the practice of arguing a case in a courtroom, the Mini Moot provides burgeoning law students with a fail-safe opportunity to practice crafting and presenting oral arguments on a smaller scale than that of the regular roster of competitive moots. With a topic usually based on a Human Rights case, the Mini Moot competition is also open to Master of Human Rights program students interested in trying their hand at courtroom advocacy.

Robson Hall’s Mini Moot is a student-led initiative facilitated by the Clinical Experience Committee (CEC), who are appointed by the incoming Manitoba Law Students Association executives at the end of each academic year. This year’s CEC is made up of Keira Hasenack (Chair), Rachel Warner, Megan Filyk, Brayden Gray, and Chris Dick. The CEC’s objective is to promote the pursuit of clinical courses and opportunities at Robson Hall, in the interest of assisting students to become the most effective, well-rounded legal professionals possible upon graduation. 

This year, 46 students participated. The winning team was Genevieve Smith and Jayden Wlasichuk, both first-year law students, with runner-up team of Ashley Slagerman and Paige Gratton.

The judge’s panel was made up of lawyers, professors, articling students, and a sitting judge, all of whom made the Mini Moot possible through the generous provision of their time. Many thanks to all the Judges who included Assistant Professors Kennedy, MacNeil and Trask, Justice Bock, alumni and MBA members Amber Harms, Braeden Cornick, Chantal Boutin, Joan Holmstrom, Kosta Vartsakis, Eric Penner, Sharyne Hamm and Rhoni Mckenzie.

“It was so exciting to see the work we’ve been learning about in our other classes come to life in a practical way, so it was really fulfilling in that way for sure,” said Wlasichuk. “And also, a huge thank you to the folks who made it happen, and for the volunteers who spent their time and energy organizing, judging, etc., it was amazing!”

Congratulations to this year’s first and second place teams, and all the students who participated in the 2022 Mini Moot.

, , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341