UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Law
UM Today Network
Robson Hall

Faculty of Law introduces “Jurists of Robson Hall”

Recognizing the hard work of Practicing Professional instructors

January 19, 2023 — 

In the fall of 2022, the Faculty of Law recognized some its sessional instructors, referred to as “Practicing Professionals,” for the long years of hard work they contributed to the education of future generations of lawyers. Practicing Professionals who taught for at least 10 or more years were formally recognized as “Jurists of Robson Hall” and were presented with brass plaques expressing thanks for their dedication.

“The guidance you provide to our students is one of the greatest gifts this law school could receive from this community,” said Dr. Richard Jochelson, Dean of Law, in each letter sent to the Jurists. “Our partnership in educating prospective members of our profession is part of what makes the Manitoba legal community a special place.”

“The years of experience in the practice that you bring to the classroom are invaluable,” he added. “You help our students chart their own path while signposting the road that they will travel.”

Dean Jochelson described the Practicing Professionals as the “lifeblood” of the Faculty of Law in its endeavour to teach law students both theory and practice to ensure the highest quality of legal education.

Each plaque read simply, “University of Manitoba Faculty of Law Designates [name] a Jurist of Robson Hall. In recognition of exceptional contributions to the University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Law Juris Doctor program. With deepest thanks and appreciation from the University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Law.”

The Faculty plans to continue adding outstanding instructors to the list of Jurists each year and will formally present tokens of appreciation at an annual reception for its Practicing Professionals. Currently, the Faculty awards one Faculty member and one Practicing Professional with a teaching award at its annual Grad Dinner.

The Faculty proudly shares the list of recently recognized Jurists of Robson Hall as follows:

Natasha Brown
Jessica Dillon
Karen Dyck
Serena Ehrmantraut
Gregory Evans, K.C.
Lisa Fainstein
Allison Fenske
Jeffrey Gindin, K.C.
David Gisser, K.C.
Bailey Harris
Laurelle Harris
Nichole Cyr Hiebert
Jeffrey Hirsch, K.C.
The Honourable Charles Huband
Sarah A. Inness, K.C.
The Honourable Timothy Killeen
Ami Kotler
Frank Lavitt
Sarah Lugtig
James McLandress, K.C.
Maria Mitousis
Wayne Onchulenko
Sacha Paul
Shoshanna Paul
Sergio Pustogorodsky
Melissa Serbin
Nick Slonosky
Stacey Soldier
Dan Torbiak
Robert Tyler
Michael Walker
Eleanor Wiebe, K.C.
Jon Woolley
The Honourable Raymond Wyant

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341