UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Education
UM Today Network

Coralie Bryant Receives Award for Contributions to Education

November 29, 2011 — 

Coralie Bryant recognized for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education

Coralie Bryant

The Faculty of Education congratulates Coralie Bryant on her recent acceptance of the Education Alumni Association (EAA), Dean J.M. Brown Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education. The award was presented to Ms. Bryant on September 14th, at the annual EAA Homecoming event held at the Fort Garry Campus.

Diane Drawbridge, the EAA President and the award selection committee were struck by Ms. Bryant’s dedication to a life of learning and educational leadership. “The EAA selected Ms. Bryant for this award as a result of her career long commitment to the professional growth of educators and education administrators in Manitoba. Ms. Bryant has been a teacher, principal, program consultant, instructor, adjunct professor, assistant superintendent, and is currently the executive director of the Manitoba Association of School Superintendents (MASS). In each role, she has been instrumental in providing professional development (PD) and mentorship opportunities. In addition, Ms. Bryant has also helped to conceptualize and make possible relevant conferences for all educators including the recent Social Justice Conference.”

Ms. Bryant sincerely thanked all those who had a hand in providing her this significant award; in particular, she thanked colleagues, the Manitoba Association of School Superintendents for the nomination, and her mother, Kelly Falk, to whom she dedicated the award in honor of her example and commitment to leadership in education.

In addition, Ms. Bryant expressed her thanks to the Education Alumni Association for giving her cause to reflect on her career and to notice that the work she has completed in Manitoba over the past 48 years is an example of the value and need for educators inside and outside Faculties of Education to continually work together in teacher education. She also acknowledged that her own professional success has been a product of these collaborations.

“It was in Manitoba that I had the critical and creative freedom to fully engage me in this profession, and it was the people like Fred Taylor, Jan Schubert, Strini Reddy, John Wiens, Patrick Dias at McGill, and Jon Young, all of whom I’ve worked with closely, and who mentored me whether they knew it or not, and created space for me to work as I wanted to work – with teachers in classrooms, in the professional development of teachers, principals, and superintendents, in research, and in helping to support the growth of communities of learning.”

The Dean J.M. Brown Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education is awarded to educators who have promoted teacher education, and to those who have exercised leadership in education and education policy development at the school or division level. It is also presented to educators who have been identified as a superior mentor of student teachers either as a faculty supervisor or cooperating teacher.

To nominate an educator for the 2012 Dean J.M. Brown Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education please review the nominations materials available at

The nomination deadline is June 15, 2012.


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341