UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
Person walks on the path along the Quad with Tier Building in the background in winter 2022. // Photo from Jack Rach

Dismantling racism: UM establishes Anti-Racism Task Force

March 2, 2022 — 

The University of Manitoba is pleased to announce the establishment of its first Anti-Racism Task Force. This is a key step in advancing racial justice, reflecting a commitment by President Michael Benarroch and the University to eliminating all forms of racism across all areas and levels of the institution. It builds on over a decade of work that includes the creation of the Vice-President (Indigenous) role, the Rady Faculty of Health Science’s Disruption of All Forms of Racism Policy, the President’s Task Force on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, and the appointment of Dr. Tina Chen as the inaugural Executive Lead (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion).

Despite all of the efforts to date, UM acknowledges that, as an institution that is part of Canada’s colonial history, we still have work to do to ensure that our polices, practices and culture actively counter all overt and subtle expressions and systems of racism and racial inequity, and that UM is a place where everyone has equal opportunity to thrive and achieve their fullest potential.

The Task Force will be supporting the anti-racism pillar in Our Shared Future, the UM’s interim Strategic Plan released in October 2021. Co-chaired by Naomi Andrew, Vice-President (Administration), and Dr. Catherine Cook, Vice-President (Indigenous), the group includes diverse members from across the University who have been active in advancing racial justice and decolonization throughout the University through their leadership, experience, subject matter expertise, and community involvement. The Task Force held its first meeting on February 11, 2022.


Introducing UM’s Anti-Racism Task Force:

Co-Chairs:  Naomi Andrew, Vice-President (Administration), and Catherine Cook, Vice-President (Indigenous)

Marcia Anderson, Vice-Dean, Indigenous, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Tee-Tee Appah, Student, University of Manitoba Black Students’ Union

Duane Brothers, UM Alumni and Board of Governors member

Tina Chen, Executive Lead (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)

Delia Douglas, Anti-Racism Practice Lead, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Reem Elmahi, Student, University of Manitoba Black Students’ Union

Amanda Fowler Woods, Graduate Student, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Leona Huntinghawk, Lecturer, Faculty of Social Work

Janesca Kydd, General Counsel, Office of Legal Counsel

Nusraat Masood, Director of IEEQ, Price Faculty of Engineering

Cary Miller, Associate Vice President Indigenous: Curriculum, Scholarship, and Research

Raven Morrisseau, Student, Indigenous Students’ Association

Jitendra Paliwal, Associate Dean (Academic) and (Graduate Programs), Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences

Aakash Pawar, Student, Faculty of Law

Karen Ragoonaden, Dean, Faculty of Education

Lalitha Raman-Wilms, Dean, College of Pharmacy, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Shyanti Saha Arpa, Student, Asper School of Business

Karen Schwartz, Faculty Relations Officer, Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Valerie Williams, Director, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Michael Yellow Bird, Dean, Faculty of Social Work



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341