UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Science
UM Today Network
Portrait of Randi Roy, Microbiology Co-op student smiling with her arms crossed.

Randi Roy, Microbiology student

Celebrating Work-Integrated Learning (WIL)

April 2, 2024 — 

March was CEWIL Canada Work-Integrated Learning (WIL) month in Canada where work-integrated learning (WIL) is celebrated. Work-integrated learning has become an integral part of the Canadian educational experience, fostering connections and collaboration between academia, industry and community to prepare students for the workforce.

As part of WIL month, the University of Manitoba Science Co-op Program is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Science Co-op Recognition Awards.

Employer Recognition Award

Co-op cannot exist without the support of our employer partners. Science Co-op appreciates the generous support and efforts of our co-op employers. This award celebrates employers who have supported the Science Co-op Program and its students through work-integrated learning opportunities. We would like to acknowledge the many employers and supervisors for going above and beyond in providing valuable work co-op term experiences as well as professional growth opportunities to our co-op students. The Co-op Employer Recognition Awards is awarded annually in two categories: 1. employer recognition and 2. supervisor recognition.

Science Co-op is recognizing the following employers for 2023: Bayer Crop Science, JC Wilt Infectious Diseases Research Centre and PTI Transformers.

Nominated by Science Co-op students for providing an outstanding co-op work term experience, the following co-op supervisors are being recognized for 2023:

  • Jourey Basco, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada
  • Dr. Shyamala Dakshinamurti, University of Manitoba, Max Rady College of Medicine
  • Victory Iyakoregha, Value Partners Investments
  • Barret Monchka, George & Fay Yee Centre for Healthcare Innovation
  • Steven Morrison, Richardson International
  • Greg Parsons, PTI Transformers
  • Dr. Joel Pearson, Cancer Care Manitoba
  • Dr. John Sorensen, University of Manitoba: Faculty of Science (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Barbara Triggs-Raine, University of Manitoba: Max Rady College of Medicine
  • Joanne Tu, Bayer Crop Science

Student of the Year Award

The Science Co-op Student of the Year Award recognizes co-op student success during their participation in the Science Co-op Program. Science Co-op is very pleased to announce the Science Co-op Student of the Year for 2023 is Randi Roy (Microbiology). Science Co-op would also like to recognize Louis Dela Pena (Biological Sciences) and Jay Wieler (Microbiology) with an Honourable Mention. Congratulations to Roy, Dela Pena and Wieler for their successful co-op work terms and fantastic contributions to the workforce and the Science Co-op community.


, , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341