UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
School of Art
UM Today Network

Clockwise: Casey Koyczan, Erica Eyres, Séamus Gallagher

Celebrating Artistic Excellence: Congratulating the 2024 Sobey Art Award Longlist

May 1, 2024 — 

Of the thirty artists, in the running for $465,000 in prize money–one of the largest visual arts awards prizes in the world, we are thrilled to highlight the accomplishments of two alumni from the School of Art, University of Manitoba, as well as an incoming Fall 2024 MFA candidate:

Casey Koyczan (MFA’21): A Dene interdisciplinary artist hailing from Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Koyczan’s work transcends boundaries, merging culture and technology to envision bold new narratives. Through mediums ranging from virtual reality to audio and video, he constructs immersive worlds where the past, present, and future converge, inviting audiences to ponder the complexities of identity and heritage.

Erica Eyres (BFA Hon.’02): Originating from Winnipeg and now based in Glasgow, Scotland, Eyres captivates audiences with her exploration of autobiography and subjective truth. Through video, drawing, painting, and sculpture, she challenges perceptions, weaving intricate narratives that blur the lines between reality and fiction. Her ceramic sculptures, imbued with personal significance, serve as conduits for collective reflection and introspection.

Additionally, we welcome Séamus Gallagher, an incoming MFA candidate whose lens-based media artistry promises to push boundaries and challenge perceptions. Through the infusion of queer aesthetics, self-portraiture, and innovative technologies, Gallagher’s work offers a poignant reflection on identity, representation, and liberation.

For the full list and more information on the 2024 longlisted artists, please visit:

Congratulations to all longlisted artists. 


The 2024 Sobey Art Award shortlist and the names of the jury members will be announced on June 11, 2024.

Works by the six shortlisted artists will be featured in a special exhibition at the NGC from October 4, 2024, to March 16, 2025. The winner will be announced on November 9, 2024, during an evening celebration at the Gallery.

About the Sobey Art Award

The Sobey Art Award (SAA) is Canada’s preeminent prize for Canadian contemporary visual artists. Created in 2002 with funding from the Sobey Art Foundation (SAF), the SAA has helped to propel the careers of artists through financial support and recognition in Canadaand beyond. The SAA has been jointly administered by the National Gallery of Canada(NGC) and SAF since 2016.

The past winners of the Sobey Art Award are: Brian Jungen (2002), Jean-Pierre Gauthier(2004), Annie Pootoogook (2006), Michel de Broin (2007), Tim Lee (2008), David Altmejd(2009), Daniel Barrow (2010), Daniel Young and Christian Giroux (2011), Raphaëlle de Groot (2012), Duane Linklater (2013), Nadia Myre (2014), Abbas Akhavan (2015), Jeremy Shaw(2016), Ursula Johnson (2017), Kapwani Kiwanga (2018), Stephanie Comilang (2019), Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory (2021), Divya Mehra (2022) and Kablusiak (2023).

, , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341