UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
UM Today Network

Celebrating Agricultural and Food Sciences grads at Spring Convocation 2023

June 8, 2023 — 

At the University of Manitoba Spring Convocation session on June 8 at the Fort Garry Campus, parchments were presented to the Class of 2023 from the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences. 


Diploma medal winners include Jamie Chi Yan Wan who received the Governor General’s Bronze Medal, an award given to the graduate with the highest academic standing in the two-year Diploma Program in Agriculture.

Tanner Olmstead received the President’s Medal, given annually to a student who combines scholarship with outstanding qualities and has demonstrated leadership to the members of the graduating class throughout their time enrolled in their program.

Degree program medals are presented to students with the highest standing in their program. This year’s recipients include: George Meggison who received the B.Sc. (Agribusiness) Medal; Bobby Conrad who received the B.Sc. (Agriculture) Medal; Gaganjot Kaur Sekhon who received the B.Sc. (Food Science) Medal; and LaDawn Duerksen who received the B.Sc. (Human Nutritional Sciences) Medal.

Anna Macdonald who graduated with a B.Sc. (Human Nutritional Sciences) was honoured with the University Gold Medal in Agricultural and Food Sciences given for the highest grade point average.

Fatima Saqib who graduated with a B.Sc. (Human Nutritional Sciences) was awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Gold Medal, given on the basis of scholarship, personal excellence and leadership.

The School of Agriculture Teacher of the Year Awards were presented in recognition of teaching excellence and contribution to the students’ program of study. The First Year award, selected by first-year diploma students, was given to Marla Riekman, Department of Soil Science. The Second Year award, selected by the graduating class of diploma students, went to Gwendolyn Donohoe, Department of Animal Science.

Degree students named Doug Cattani, Department of Plant Science, as Professor of the Year, an honour voted on by the graduating class.

Meet some of the members of the Class of 2023.

, , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341