UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Education
UM Today Network

Awards handed out to high achievers in education at Homecoming Evening

Handed out to promising new teachers and those who have been in classroom many years

October 20, 2015 — 

Several teaching awards were handed out during the recent Homecoming evening event—both to promising new teachers and to those who have been making great strides in the field for many years.

One of those winners, Sue McFarlane Penner, was chosen because of her dedication to her teaching career.

Sue McFarlane Penner receives her award from Debra Lovelace, EAA.

Sue McFarlane Penner receives her award from Debra Lovelace, EAA.

McFarlane Penner, who teaches Grade 2 at Sargent Park School, received this year’s Education Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award. Debra Lovelace from the Education Alumni Association, who made the presentation, said McFarlane Penner exemplified a person who has demonstrated “excellence in teaching over a career.”

The award winner was lauded for her philosophy for every learner, which is “you belong here.” Her peers submitted her name for the award because of the innovative classroom environment she has created, along with her belief that teaching goes beyond the classroom.

“She has never been content to sit on the sidelines,” said Lovelace. For example, she piloted and implemented a new/guided reading centre in the Grade 1 classroom. She also introduced a buddy program, whereby early years students were partnered with students in the Grade 9 class.

McFarlane Penner is also committed to furthering her education, having completed her post-baccalaureate diploma in special education.

“Congratulations on all you have achieved, Sue. We are so glad your calling is education,” Lovelace said during the award presentation at the Education Homecoming evening.

2015 J.M. Brown Award recipient Jennifer Campbell.

2015 J.M. Brown Award recipient Jennifer Campbell.

Jennifer Campbell, who has been the faculty’s co-ordinator of school placements since 2011, was this year’s J.M. Brown Award winner. The award is named after the former dean of the Faculty of Education from 1959-74. It’s presented to an individual each year who has made an “outstanding contribution to the improvement of teacher education in Manitoba.”

Campbell has made many significant contributions to the field of education in Manitoba, said David Mandzuk, dean of the faculty. She had a long career in education before she came to the faculty, having worked nearly 35 years in the Winnipeg School Division as a phys. ed. teacher. She is involved with the Manitoba Phys.Ed. Teachers Association and was phys. ed. coordinator with the Winnipeg School Division for some years.

During her time in the faculty, said Mandzuk, Campbell has “helped build partnerships with schools and colleagues” and “works tirelessly with the School Experiences Office.” She helped create a northern practicum option for teacher candidates which now allows them to apply to do their practicums in Norway House, Gillam and Churchill. She also helped built the facilitated French Immersion practicum option in the Seven Oaks School Division and the Indigenous Studies Practicum option in the Louis Riel School Division, said Mandzuk.

The 2015 Scholarship Winners receive their awards from Debra Lovelace, EAA (far right).

The 2015 Scholarship Winners receive their awards from Debra Lovelace, EAA (far right).

During the faculty’s Homecoming evening, three Education Alumni Association scholarships were also handed out. Kathleen Donnelly, Integrated Music Education, Julian Eiril Arcega, Senior Years and Shawna McLeod, Senior Years, all received 2015 scholarships.

, , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341