UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Asper School of Business
UM Today Network
Lauren Slegers standing in front of a brick wall.

Lauren Slegers

Asper PSLP participant receives the Janice Filmon Leadership Scholarship

Lauren Slegers sets the example for student leadership

June 23, 2021 — 

Asper School of Business student, Lauren Slegers, has been named as the recipient of the 2021 Janice Filmon Leadership Scholarship. The annual scholarship is awarded to exceptional students entering the President’s Student Leadership Program (PSLP) offered through the James W. Burns Leadership Institute. Along with exemplary academic achievement, the recipient must actively participate in volunteer service or student government.  

Slegers, a member of the second cohort of the President’s Student Leadership Program (PSLP), received the scholarship in recognition of her countless hours advocating for numerous student bodies. She served as a member of the Commerce Students’ Association and the University of Manitoba Students’ Union Board, where she represented the Asper School of Business. Prior to attending Asper, Slegers served for two years as President of the Red River College Students’ Association and for two terms as a Board Secretary for the Canadian Alliance of Student Associations.

Most recently, Slegers, who is double majoring in Human Resources and Leadership and Organizations, turned her case competition success into community support when her team placed first in their event at the International Business Ethics Case Competition (IBECC). Slegers’ team donated jeans and made a video highlighting the contributions RAY has made to help ease the impact of COVID-19 on vulnerable youth.

Participating in PSLP is a requirement when applying for the Janice Filmon Leadership Scholarship. As a PSLP student, Slegers reflected upon the leadership lessons taught throughout the Program.

“The President’s Student Leadership Program provided an opportunity for me to reflect on and develop the skills that I gained through prior leadership experiences, in addition to expanding my leadership abilities,” said Slegers. “Having taken the time to better understand who I am as a leader, I can navigate future leadership opportunities with greater confidence and an understanding of how I can make the most meaningful impact”

Every year, a number of scholarships are available to President’s Student Leadership Program participants, in addition to the fellowships through the James W. Burns Leadership Institute, which funds the program.  Along with the Janice Filmon Leadership Scholarship, valued at $1,825 in 2020, PSLP participants may also be awarded one of three Dayna and Charlie Spiring Leadership Scholarships, each worth $5,000; for the Spiring scholarships, applicants must be enrolled in the Asper School of Business undergraduate program.

The President’s Student Leadership Program selects a cohort of students from across disciplines each year to participate in a unique-in-Canada development opportunity, based on existing leadership experience, whether formal or informal. To learn more about the President’s Student Leadership Program please visit the webpage. The full application requirements and eligibility criteria for the Janice Filmon Leadership Scholarship can be found on UM Financial Aid & Awards Database.

, , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341