UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Asper School of Business
UM Today Network

Warren Centre appoints new Chair in Actuarial Science

January 5, 2015 — 
Dr Arnold Shapiro

Dr Arnold Shapiro (FSA), L.A.H. Warren Chair in Actuarial Science

The Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research at the University of Manitoba’s Asper School of Business has appointed Dr. Arnold F. Shapiro (FSA) the L.A.H. Warren Chair in Actuarial Science, for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2015.

“In addition to strengthening our business community connections, Dr. Shapiro will mentor and guide our Actuarial graduate students in their research,” says Dr. Michael Benarroch, Dean of the I.H. Asper School of Business and CA Manitoba Chair in Business Leadership. “He is exceptionally well-qualified for these key roles.”

Dr. Shapiro is Professor Emeritus at Pennsylvania State University, where he established and directed the actuarial program for 35 years. Dr. Shapiro holds several professional designations, is widely published, and has received more than 30 research grants. He graduated from the University of Manitoba’s Actuarial program in 1969 with a BSc(Hons) where, for a year after graduation, he lectured on several actuarial courses.

Dr. Shapiro is the third Warren Chair, succeeding the late Mike Byrne and Dr. Sam Cox, now retired in Atlanta, Georgia.

The L.A.H. Warren Chair in Actuarial Science was established in 1987 following a successful endowment campaign to secure the actuarial program at the U of M, an initiative generously supported by the industry and actuarial alumni.

The Warren Centre is home to the University’s Actuarial programs, including one jointly offered with the Department of Statistics and the Asper School’s undergraduate and Masters of Science programs in Actuarial Mathematics. The Actuarial program is one of the oldest in North America – it has offered courses since 1912. Over 700 graduates have become either Associates or Fellows of the Society of Actuaries or the Casualty Actuarial Society. The Centre has been recognized as a Centre of Actuarial Excellence by the Society of Actuaries since 2009, and accredited by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries under its University Accreditation Program since 2011.

For more information, contact:

Judy Wilson
Director, Marketing & Communications
Asper School of Business
(204) 474-8960
judy [dot] wilson [at] umanitoba [dot] ca


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341