UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Asper School of Business
UM Today Network
Three women and two men dressed in suits standing in a row.

(L-R) Denise Zaporzan, Chi Liao, Sean Buchanan, Kelsey Taylor, Bruno Silvestre

Three Asper faculty members receive Associates Fellowships

Fellowships to support collaboration between Asper faculty and The Associates

October 1, 2022 — 

Three I.H. Asper School of Business faculty members have been named the first recipients of The Associates Fellowships for their excellence in teaching, research and professional collaboration.

Dr. Sean Buchanan has been named The Associates Fellow in Business Administration, Dr. Chi Liao as The Associates Fellow in Finance and Dr. Kelsey Taylor as The Associates Fellow in Supply Chain Management.

The Associates launched the fellowships this September, with each successful recipient receiving $10,000 per year, for three years, to support their research, teaching and professional service.

The new research fellows were recognized at The Associates Achievement Awards event on September 23, 2022, where Vice-Chair of The Associates, Denise Zaporzan, presented the researchers with their awards. 

“The Associates Fellowships have been created to support enhanced connections to the business community, contributions to the practice of management and meaningful collaboration between Asper faculty and the business community,” said Zaporzan. “These three recipients represent a valuable group of individuals to the Asper School community.”

Dr. Bruno Silvestre, Dean of the I.H. Asper School of Business also recognized the recipients at the event.

“A huge congratulations to Chi, Kelsey and Sean, whose commitment to excellence in teaching, research and professional services will support meaningful interactions and engagement with The Associates and the local business community over the next three years,” said Silvestre.

Details about The Associates Fellowship recipients:

The Associates Fellow in Business Administration: Dr. Sean Buchanan

Sean Buchanan is an Associate Professor of Business Administration. His research broadly focuses on the relationships among actors, institutions and social and environmental issues, and specifically seeks to understand the dynamics of change and stability in organizational fields, industries and occupations struggling with environmental sustainability, economic inequality or stigmatization. Dr. Buchanan’s research has been published in Academy of Management ReviewOrganization ScienceJournal of Management StudiesOrganization StudiesHuman RelationsJournal of World Business, and Organization.

The Associates Fellow in Finance: Dr. Chi Liao

Chi Liao is an Assistant Professor of Finance. Her research in household finance and behavioural finance focuses on the determinants of financial decision making, both individual and corporate, with the goal of developing a better understanding of observed behaviour. Her research has been published in leading finance and entrepreneurship journals including the Journal of International Financial Markets, Review of Finance, and the Journal of Business Venturing.

The Associates Fellow in Supply Chain Management: Dr. Kelsey Taylor

Kelsey Taylor is an Assistant Professor of Supply Chain Management. Her research examines multiple dimensions of environmental and social responsibility in supply chains using quantitative and qualitative research methods, such as case studies, behavioural experiments and econometric analysis. Dr. Taylor’s ongoing research projects examine the supply chains of purpose-driven organizations like social enterprises to understand how and why different types of actors and institutions contribute to sustainable impact creation. Her work has been published in research journals such as Industrial Marketing Management and the International Journal of Production Research.

The Associates Fellowships contribute to the growing list of support Asper School of Business students and faculty receive from The Associates. This faculty-specific support includes the annual Associates Achievement Awards presented to five leading faculty members in recognition of outstanding contributions to teaching, research and engagement.

“Thank you to The Associates for their investment in our faculty,” said Dr. Silvestre. “By sponsoring these fellowships, The Associates encourage our faculty to continue to strive for excellence in their work while supporting the attraction of world-class faculty to the Asper School of Business.”


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341