UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
UM Today Network
Michael Eskin

Michael Eskin recognized for advancing science of oils and fats

May 31, 2024 — 

Dr. Michael Eskin was recently celebrated by the AOCS (American Oil Chemists Society) with their AOCS Award of Merit, given to honour those who have actively demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the Society through committee participation, or have contributed exceptional quality of service that has advanced the Society’s prestige, standing or interest.  The award was announced at the 2024 AOCS Annual Meeting held April 28-May 1 in Montreal.

The citation reads:

Michael Eskin, University of Manitoba, Canada

Dr. Michael Eskin is a professor at the University of Manitoba and a Fellow of AOCS, IFT, CIFST, the Institute of Food Science and Technology in the UK, and the Royal Society of Canada. He is recognized for his work on edible oils and has played a key role in the successful development of canola oil. Michael has published over 250 research articles, book chapters, monographs, abstracts, and several patents. He has published 15 books, including two on canola. Michael has also done extensive research on enzymes and gums as well as developed a number of colorimetric methods, including one for phytate that is still used worldwide. In 2017, he was selected by the students in his faculty as Professor of the Year. He is well known for his Lipid Raps.

Michael is the recipient of many awards, including the Order of Canada in 2016 for his contributions to the world-wide success of canola oil. He served as Chair of the Lipid Oxidation Division and was the first Chair of the Division council. In addition to serving as an Associate Editor of Journal of the American Oil Chemists’ Society, he was co-editor of Lipid Technology for 7 years and is Associate Editor of Education for the AOCS Library. Michael was the recipient of the Stephen S. Chang Award from IFT in 2012 and AOCS in 2018. He also received the Supelco AOCS Research Award in 2020, Herbert J. Dutton Award in 2017, the Alton Bailey Medal in 2013, and the Timothy Mounts Award in 2007.


© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341