UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
convocation photo

Fall 2015 Convocation

October 14, 2015 — 

This fall, 1,389 graduands are eligible to receive their diplomas at Fall Convocation 2015.

Two sessions of the 48th Fall Convocation at the University of Manitoba will be held on Wednesday, October 21, 2015, and Thursday, October 22, 2015. Each session will begin at 3:30 p.m. in the Investors Group Gym.

During Fall Convocation, honorary degrees for distinguished achievement will be awarded to: Michael Nesbitt, businessman, philanthropist and patron of the arts (awarded on Wednesday, October 21, 2015 at 3:30 pm); and Marie Wilson, a tireless advocate for Indigenous communities and former reporter for CBC-Radio-Canada (awarded on Thursday, October 22 at 3:30 pm).

In addition to the honorary degrees, several other awards will be presented during Convocation 2015:

  • The Olive Beatrice Stanton Award for excellence in teaching at the U of M will be presented to Nathan S. Greidanus, business administration, Asper School of Business
  • The Dr. and Mrs. H. H. Saunderson Award for excellence in teaching at the U of M will be presented to Karen Busby, Faculty of Law
  • The Graduate Students’ Association Teaching Award will be presented to John Wiens, Dean Emeritus, Faculty of Education
  • Haskel Greenfield, anthropology, Faculty of Arts and Leigh Murphy, biochemistry and medical genetics, Faculty of Health Sciences, College of Medicine, will be given the title Distinguished Professor.

Each ceremony will be webcast live. Follow along on Twitter and Instagram:  #UMConvocation



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341