UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today

Call for Nominations: Chancellor, University of Manitoba

December 7, 2015 — 


The current term of Harvey Secter as Chancellor ends May 31, 2016. Chancellor Secter has served as Chancellor for six years and is eligible for re-election.

The Chancellor is the titular head of the University. The Chancellor confers all degrees and is a voting member of the Board of Governors and the Senate.

Nominations for the Office of the Chancellor are requested from members and assessors of the Board of Governors and the Senate, Students, Academic Staff, Support Staff and Alumni of The University of Manitoba. Nomination forms are available in the Office of the University Secretary, Room 312 Administration Building or online. Each nomination form must be signed by any five persons who are members of the aforementioned groups and must be received in the Office of the University Secretary no later than 4:00 p.m., January 8, 2016.

Nominators may nominate only one person each. The following persons are not eligible to be Chancellor:

  1. Members of the academic or administrative staff of any University or College;
  2. Members of the governing body of any University other than the University of Manitoba;
  3. Members of the governing body of any College.

The University of Manitoba Act provides for a Committee of Election composed of all members of the Board of Governors and all members of the Senate. The sole purpose of the Committee of Election is to elect a Chancellor of the University. The Policy on the Election of the Chancellor provides for a Chancellor Search Committee to review nominations and submit a recommendation to the Committee on Election for approval. The meeting of the Committee of Election will be held Wednesday, February 3, 2016.



© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341