UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
51st Annual Fall Convocation

2018 Fall Convocation at the U of M

October 8, 2018 — 

At its 2018 Fall Convocation, the University of Manitoba will confer degrees, diplomas and certificates on 1,512 graduates.

During Convocation, honorary degrees are awarded for distinguished achievement. Candidates for honorary degrees are nominated by members of the University and the public.

Four sessions of the 51st Annual Fall Convocation at the University of Manitoba will be held this month:


Tuesday, October 16, 2018, 3:30 p.m.

Faculty of Graduate Studies
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
School of Agriculture
Faculty of Architecture
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Management/I. H. Asper School of Business
Faculty of Science

Honorary degree: Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Esther Suen − BComm(Hons)(Manitoba), Honorary Fellow (Hong Kong)

University of Manitoba Graduate Students’ Association Teaching Award:
Puyan Mojabi, B.Sc.(E.E.)(Tehran), M.Sc.(E.E.)(Iran), Ph.D.(Manitoba)


Wednesday, October 17, 2018, 3:30 p.m.

Faculty of Graduate Studies
School of Art
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Law
Marcel A. Desautels Faculty of Music

Honorary Degree: Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Ovide Mercredi − OM, LLB(Manitoba), LLD (Bishop’s, St. Mary’s, Lethbridge), DLitt(Athabasca)

Distinguished Professors:
Pam Perkins, B.A.(Hons.)(Utah), M.A., Ph.D.(Dalhousie)
Adele Perry, B.A.(Simon Fraser), M.A., Ph.D.(York)


Thursday, October 18, 2018, 3:30 pm

Faculty of Graduate Studies
Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, & Resources
Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
College of Dentistry
School of Dental Hygiene
Max Rady College of Medicine
College of Nursing
College of Pharmacy
Faculty of Kinesiology and Recreation Management
Faculty of Social Work

Honorary Degree: Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Gregg Hanson − CM, BComm(Hons)(Manitoba)


Friday, October 26, 2018 2:00 p.m

Faculty of Graduate Studies
Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
College of Rehabilitation Sciences

Distinguished Professor:
Grant N. Pierce, O.M., B.P.H.E.(Hons.)(Lakehead), M.Sc.(Dalhousie), Ph.D.(Manitoba), F.R.S.C.


Each session of Convocation will be streamed online.

Follow #umanitoba2018 on Twitter and Instagram to see more.

, ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341