UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Research and International
UM Today Network
Alumni AGM_

2014 Alumni Association AGM: a celebration of achievement, a renewed commitment to success

June 17, 2014 — 

The successful launch of an expanded alumni awards program and details around a recently announced philanthropic gift-matching campaign were among the highlights shared with the more than 40 alumni who attended the 2014 Alumni Association AGM on Monday, June 16.

Outgoing Association President Heather Reichert reflected on her term, which included the Homecoming 2013 celebration of Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) winner Ovide Mercredi.

Reichert commended the Alumni Forum in spring and the May 1 Alumni Association Celebration of Excellence event, which expanded the DAA and recognized the accomplishments of five extraordinary alumni. These recipients included human rights scholar and advocate David Matas, former refugee Chau Pham, chemical weapons inspector Scott Cairns, Manitoba industry leader John Bockstael and Indigenous community leader Bruce Miller.

Reichert ended by recapping the Alumni Association’s gift-matching campaign Their Future is Our Future – Double The Potential, which benefits U of M graduate students and the Active Living Centre. She encouraged alumni to support the campaign and its $2 million goal.

Reichert’s fellow Asper alumnus, Jeff Lieberman, was voted in as the new Association president. A longstanding member of the Association board and award-winning volunteer, Lieberman assured attendees that he and his fellow directors (see below) will “continue with tradition as well as find new ways to connect with alumni here and around the world.”

President Barnard opened the evening with a note of praise to the alumni community for its ongoing “contributions to our community of learning, discovery and engagement.”


2014-15 Alumni Association Board of Directors



Jeff Lieberman, President

Ian Chambers, Vice-President
(Lifelong Learning)

Shona Connelly, Vice-President
(Alumni Achievement)

Kim Metcalfe, Treasurer  & Vice-President* (Student Engagement)

Heather Reichert, Past President

Dawn Nedohin-Macek, Member at Large

Barbara Axworthy, Secretary, Ex-Officio

*When a board member holds 2 executive positions, an additional member at large will be added to the executive committee



(includes Executive members)

Ian Chambers, BN/93

Shona Connelly, BA /81, MA/85

Ken Kustra, B.Sc./99, B.Comm.(Hons.)/02, C.A./05

Jeffrey Lieberman, BA /80, BComm (Hons)/83

Kenneth Letander, BSW /12

Joe Masi, BA/80, Ext Ed/89

Kim Metcalfe, BComm (Hons)/97, CA/00

Nancy Militano, B.A./85, B.R.S./02

Dawn Nedohin-Macek, BSc (CompE)/02

Coleen Rajotte, BA (Adv)/89

Heather Reichert, BComm (Hons)/83, CA/86

Blair Worb, B.A./85, B.S.W./87



John Kearsey, Vice-President (External), Representing the University President

Tony Iacopino, Representing the Provost’s Council

Allan Turnbull, President, University of Manitoba Students’ Union

Laura Rempel, B.Env.D./06, President,Manitoba Graduate’s Student Association



Romel Dhalla, BA/99, BComm (Hons)/04

Heather Reichert, B.Comm.(Hons.)/83, C.A./86

Rennie Zegalski, BComm (Hons)/95



Executive:  Jeff Lieberman

Finance:  Kim Metcalfe

Nominating:  Heather Reichert


Research at the University of Manitoba is partially supported by funding from the Government of Canada Research Support Fund.


One comment on “2014 Alumni Association AGM: a celebration of achievement, a renewed commitment to success

Comments have been closed.

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341