UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Research and International
UM Today Network
Dr. Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Rh Bowman Award recipient.

UM researchers recognized with Rh Awards

May 21, 2024 — 

Eight UM faculty members are recognized at the Rh Awards at the May 27 ceremony featuring a special presentation by Bowman Award recipient Dr. Lorrie Kirshenbaum. For more than 50 years, the Rh Awards have been in place to support the advancement of knowledge across disciplines at UM. Funds for the Rh Awards come from the royalties of serums and medical formulae invented and perfected at UM.

“It is wonderful to celebrate the outstanding researcher accomplishments of across disciplines at the annual Rh Awards,” says Mario Pinto, Vice-President (research & International). “Throughout his career, Dr. Kirshenbaum has worked to improve treatments for those with heart disease and to integrate student experience with the cutting-edge research at UM labs. I congratulate him on this well-deserved award.”

Awards are given in two categories: The Dr. John M. Bowman Memorial Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Award, awarded to one established faculty member annually and the Terry G. Falconer Memorial Rh Institute Foundation Emerging Researcher Awards, awarded to seven early career faculty members.

Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Canada Research Chair in Molecular Cardiology at Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, is the recipient of the Dr. John M. Bowman Memorial Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Award in recognition of the important impacts of his work to explore the genetic roots of heart disease. In his complimentary roles as Director of the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St. Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre and Director of Research Development at the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, Kirshenbaum is focused on providing specialized treatments for women living with heart disease.

Terry G. Falconer Memorial Rh Institute Foundation Emerging Researcher Award recipients are:

Applied Sciences

Dr. Faouzi Bellili (electrical & computer engineering) investigates technologies and information processing to support massive connectivity in wireless communication. Bellili is internationally recognized as a leader in the development of new signal processing techniques for increased sustainability and capacity in wireless infrastructure.

Health Sciences

Dr. Renée El-Gabalawy (clinical health psychology) is a clinical psychologist at Health Sciences Centre whose innovative patient informed research explores the interconnections between mental and physical health. As Director of the multidisciplinary Health, Anxiety and Trauma Laboratory, El-Gabalawy seeks to improve mental health care for medically vulnerable populations through targeted interventions integrating emerging medical technologies such as virtual reality.

Dr. Zulma Rueda (medical microbiology and infectious diseases) is focused on understanding the epidemiology and infectious diseases, including tuberculosis, HIV and other sexually transmitted and blood borne infections. Rueda’s innovative research examines a lifetime of experiences and exposures to better understand the complexity of disease susceptibility with the goal of improving public health. She is the Canada Research Chair in Sexually Transmitted Infection – Resistance and Control.


Dr. Kyle Bobiwash (entomology) is a multi-disciplinary researcher with impacts across natural science and STEM fields through policy leadership integrating Indigenous knowledge systems. His work examines pollinator health and sustainable agricultural practices. Bobiwash creates opportunities for Indigenous self-determination by bridging Indigenous and Western scientific methodologies with lasting impacts on research and training programs, locally and nationally.

Dr. Orly Linovski (city planning) investigates the intricacies of urban planning practice and transportation equity to inform practical strategies to address gaps in city planning practices. Linovski leads research partnerships with colleagues at twelve universities across Canada the United States and United Kingdom. She is an in-demand expert with critical insights in private-sector planning who is making transportation systems more equitable for all.

Social Sciences

Dr. Leslie E. Roos (psychology) is working to understand how experiences of childhood adversity impacts family well-being over a lifespan. Roos employs a multi-method approach with community and clinical partners to develop family-centered mental health interventions and promote mental health equity. Her research objectives include improving access to mental health supports for families through the provision of scalable and accessible programming.

Dr. Sandeep Arora (marketing) is an Associate Professor and Department Head in the Asper School of Business’s Marketing Department as well as the F. Ross Johnson Professor of Marketing. Arora is an esteemed leader whose highly impactful publications have garnered more than 300 citations in a short period of time. His innovative research includes using “big data” to answer complex questions with socially relevant implications.

To learn more about research excellence at UM, visit our Awards and Recognition webpage.

Research at the University of Manitoba is partially supported by funding from the Government of Canada Research Support Fund.

, , , , , , , , ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341