UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Price Faculty of Engineering
UM Today Network

U of M Engineering Faculty and Alumnus inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering

June 5, 2015 — 

50 new Fellows were into the Canadian Academy of Engineering on June 4, 2015, four of which are directly connected to the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Manitoba.
The ceremony took place in Hamilton, Ontario in conjunction with the Academy’s 2015 Annual General Meeting and Symposium.

Academy President, Pierre Lortie commented: “We welcome the new Fellows. They are engineers of outstanding abilities. While they have widely varying backgrounds, from Industry and Academe and Government, what they all have in common is the demonstrated desire and ability to go beyond the normal practice of engineering and contribute in exemplary ways towards their fields and to their communities. We expect great achievements through their participation in the Academy’s activities. In our past, Fellows of the Academy have produced major studies in the fields of education, energy and innovation; we look forward with boundless anticipation as to how these new Fellows will build upon these good works and explore new and exciting areas of engineering and its impact on public policy.”

U of M inductees are:

Leonard Lye – Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Dr. Leonard Lye, PEng, FEC, FCSCE, Professor of Civil Engineering and Associate Dean in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial University of Newfoundland, is an inventor, entrepreneur, and mentor. He received his PhD in Engineering from the University of Manitoba in 1988. His inventions have been commercialized and are being used worldwide by universities, professional coaches and international companies. He has won awards for teaching and community service including the PEGNL Community and Teaching Awards and Fellowships by Engineers Canada and the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering. As an academic, he has mentored over 30 graduate students and published over 120 papers in journals and conferences.

Zahra Moussavi – Director, Biomedical Engineering Prog., Department of Electrical & Computer Eng., University of Manitoba

Dr. Zahra Kazem-Moussavi has used her vast knowledge to produce ground-breaking research to improve the lives of others. Most recently she has been working on early diagnosis and treatment of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia and has established the only Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Centre for treatment of the disease in Canada. Lately, she has also started a memory program for people of age 60+ with memory problems, called “Soroor Memory Series”. These pioneering programs have made Manitoba a unique, world-class centre of research for Alzheimer’s. As a full professor at the University of Manitoba, as well as a Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Engineering, Dr. Zahra Kazem-Moussavi has served as a role model,  particularly to her female students.

Nariman Sepehri – Professor, University of Manitoba

Nariman Sepehri, Fellow ASME and CSME, is an expert in the engineering field of fluid power systems and control. He is a leader in detecting system faults and merging them with control corrections to create a self-healing approach in safety critical applications. He has published over 100 journal articles, is the holder of five patents and co-author of a textbook on Hydrostatic Actuation. He has allocated a good portion of his time to serve technical societies, most notably as Chair of the ASME Fluid Power Systems and Technology Division. He was involved in the organization of over 60 international conferences and has served on editorial boards of eight journals.

Quan Wang – Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Manitoba

Dr. Quan Wang is a Professor in structural mechanics. He has made outstanding contributions in applications of nano-materials in composites and sensor designs. He is also a world leading expert in smart materials and structures and applications in energy harvesting, structural health monitoring and repair. He has published around 200 research papers in internationally referred journals with high citation counts. He has played various active roles in and contributed to research, education and public services. Because of his substantial contributions and leadership in the engineering profession, Dr. Wang has been elected to be a fellow of ASME, ASCE, and IOP.

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) is the national institution through which Canada’s most distinguished and experienced engineers provide strategic advice on matters of critical importance to Canada. The CAE is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987. Members of the CAE are nominated and elected by their peers to honorary Fellowships, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering professions. Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering are committed to ensuring that Canada’s engineering expertise is applied to the benefit of all Canadians.


, ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341