UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
UM Today Network

Canada Gairdner Award winner to speak at U of M

October 14, 2015 — 

The University of Manitoba, College of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences is pleased to welcome noted molecular geneticist Dr. Jeffrey Ravtech as he presents at the annual Gairdner Lecture, Monday, October 19, 2015 at the UofM’s Bannatyne Campus.

Who:  Dr. Jeffrey Ravtech, recipient of the 2012 Canada Gairdner International Award; Theresa and Eugene Lang Professor at the Rockefeller University and Head, Leonard Wagner Laboratory of Molecular Genetics and Immunology.

What“Why Both Ends Matter: the surprising diversity of the Fc domain”

When:  Monday, October 19, 2015, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Where:  Frederic Gaspard Theatre, Basic Medical Sciences Building, University of Manitoba, Bannatyne Campus, 727 McDermot Avenue

The Gairdner Foundation celebrates biomedical science across Canada. Each year the Foundation hosts a 10-day National Program to connect Gairdner winners to the current and emerging generation of Canadian researchers – and anyone else who is interested. Gairdner recipients lecture to over 6,000 people at over 20 universities across Canada every year.

Jeffrey Ravtech University of Manitoba Gairdner Lecture 2015

Dr. Jeffrey Ravtech

Jeffrey Ravetch, MD, PhD, graduated from Yale University in 1973 and received his PhD in 1978 from The Rockefeller University. He received his MD from Cornell University Medical College in 1979 and completed his postdoctoral research at the National Institutes of Health with Philip Leder. In 1982 Dr. Ravetch joined the faculty of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and in 1984 also became a guest investigator in Rockefeller’s Laboratory of Cellular Physiology and Immunology. He was appointed professor at Rockefeller in 1996 and named Theresa and Eugene M. Lang Professor in 1997.

Dr. Ravetch received the Canada Gairdner International Award and the Sanofi-Pasteur Award in 2012, the Coley Award from the Cancer Research Institute in 2007, the American Association of Immunologists-Huang Foundation Meritorious Career Award in 2005, the Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research in 2004 and the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Award in Molecular Parasitology in 1986. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

 For more information contact Ilana Simon, Director of Communications & Marketing, College of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba, 204-789-3427, (cell) 204-295-6777 or

, ,

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341