UM Today UM Today University of Manitoba UM Today UM Today UM Today
News from
Price Faculty of Engineering
UM Today Network

Alumnus becomes third female president of APEGM and receives Early Achievement award

December 3, 2012 — 

Dawn Nedohin-Macek, P.Eng. (B.Sc. Comp.Eng/02) became only the third female president of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba on October 26, 2012, the same day she received an Early Achievement Award from the Association.

Nedohin-Macek has been an employee of Manitoba Hydro since graduation, taking on ever increasing corporate responsibilities while balancing her career with leadership roles with her technical and professional associations, as well as being involved in promoting women in Engineering to the community. She is currently the Executive Assistant to the Vice-President of Transmission Business Unit with Manitoba Hydro.

Early in her career Nedohin-Macek was a Process Control Engineer overseeing the analysis, support and development of computer application that support the electrical System Control Centre operations including outage and operational data logging applications. More recently she has been involved in the development of cost estimates and construction schedules for major capital projects such as the Bipole III Converter Station project. She has assisted and participated in an internal leadership program and has assisted in implementing software improvements that enhance workflow and communications on a large scale within Manitoba Hydro. Nedohin-Macek is also involved in a Manitoba Hydro International project with the Transmission Company of Nigeria and will be implementing a Performance Measurement system for them.

Nedohin-Macek’s leadership and commitment in volunteer work serving the profession is impressive. She is now President of APEGM, and an elected Councillor since June 2010. s. Nedohin-Macek has previously been involved in the Women in Action Committee and Awards Committee for APEGM. She was the chair of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD) Committee starting in 2002 and moved into the Chair position of the Winnipeg Section, and was also involved in the IEEE MGA Awards Committee and the IEEE Women in Engineering Committee as a committee member. Nedohin-Macek is a past councillor for the Manitoba Hydro Professional Engineers Association (MHPEA).

Nedohin-Macek has previously been recognized for her early achievements with a number of awards for her excellence in service to the profession, including IEEE Regional Activities Board GOLD Achievement Award 2006, APEGM Professional in Training Award in 2005, IEEE Section Gold Leadership Award 2003 and the  IEEE Regional Activities Board Outstanding GOLD Program Award in 2003.

© University of Manitoba • Winnipeg, Manitoba • Canada • R3T 2N2

Emergency: 204-474-9341